21 cm Cosmology in the 21st century

August 13 – 16, 2018

Subscriptions open:
Monday, May 28, 2018 - Friday, August 10, 2018

Check out the schedule!

In the last few decades Cosmology is building an detailed physical description of the Universe. More recently, the access to information from higher and higher redshifts allowed scientists to study the Universe during the first hundreds of millions of years. The science that can be extracted from that epoch, the so-called Cosmic Dawn and the Epoch of Reionization, remains one of the most exciting challenges in modern cosmology.

In particular, observing the 21 cm line of atomic hydrogen displaced to larger wavelengths is becoming an increasingly powerful tool for studying the so-called "dark ages," giving rise to the so-called 21 cm Cosmology. Studying the Universe at those times, mainly in the radio band, gives us access to information about the formation of the first stars and expands our knowledge of the thermal history of the Universe.

A new generation of radio telescopes is being constructed for this purpose with the first results starting to appear. INPE is keenly involved in this effort through the BINGO telescope.

The main objective of the 6th INPE Advanced Course is to present and discuss different aspects of the 21 cm cosmology, for both Brazilian and international participants. The lectures will focus on the following topics:

  1. 21-cm cosmology: mean temperature, power spectra from relativistic calculation, and observational prospects. (Dr. Yin-Zhe Ma)
  2. Tracing the birth of the first stars and galaxies: from the Cosmic Dawn to the EOR. (Dr. Marta Silva)
  3. The Hydrogen thermal history from recombination to reionization: a experimental/observational view. (Dr. Jeff Peterson)
  4. The role of Bayesian statistics in radio astronomy data modelling. (Dr. Filipe Abdalla)

Invited Lecturers

  1. Dr. Filipe Abdalla (Univ. College London, England)
  2. Dr. Yin-Zhe Ma (Univ. Kuazulu-Natal, South Africa)
  3. Dr. Jeff Peterson (Univ. Carnegie Melon, USA)
  4. Dr. Marta Silva (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, Univ. Groningen, Netherlands)

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • E. Abdalla (USP - Brazil)
  • F. Abdalla (Univ. College, London – UK)
  • R. Battye (Univ. Manchester - UK)
  • I. Browne (Univ. Manchester - UK)
  • C. Dickinson (Univ. Manchester - UK)
  • T. Villela (INPE - Brasil)
  • C. A. Wuensche (INPE – Brazil, chair)

Local Organizing Committee - LOC

  • E. Abdalla (USP - Brasil)
  • L. Corazza (INPE - Brasil)
  • K. Fornazier (INPE - Brasil)
  • E. Mericia (INPE - Brasil)
  • C. Moraes (USP - Brasil)
  • M. Peel (USP - Brasil)
  • C. A. Wuensche (INPE - Brasil, presidente)

Publicado Por: INPE
Última Modificação: Jul 16, 2018 12h05